The Croquet Championships of Ireland 2016

Event Summary


The 2016 Irish Croquet Championships were held at Carrickmines between 30th July and 6th August. It was a busy week, with the events well contested leading to an exciting final day. The Championship ended with a dinner and entertaining prize giving on the Saturday night. The results from the events can be seen below and some pictures will follow shortly.


Photos from the Croquet Association of Ireland website can be seen at



Events and Winners


  1. Singles Championship of Ireland (Duff Matthews Perpetual Trophy)


  • Winner: Simon Williams (Carrickmines)
  • Runner Up: Patsy Fitzgerald


  1. Doubles Championship of Ireland (Anne Healy Trophies)


  • Winners: Simon Williams (Carrickmines) and Jack Clingan
  • Runners Up: Danny Johnston and Fiachra Carroll


  1. Handicap Singles (The Founders Cup)


  • Winner: Tony Carey (Carrickmines)
  • Runner Up: Nathaniel Healy (Carrickmines)


  1. Handicap Doubles (The Stonebrook Cups)


  • Winners: Danny Johnston and Naimh Walshe
  • Runners Up: Simon Williams and Martin Gilmartin (Carrickmines)


  1. Handicap Plate (The Steel Cup)


  • Winner: David McGrath
  • Runner Up: Anne-Marie McGowan (Carrickmines)


  1. Advanced Play (The Green Cup)


  • Winner: Gerard Osborne-Burke (Carrickmines)
  • Runner Up: Daniel Bennett


  1. Level Play (USCA Salver)


  • Winner: Robert Miller
  • Runner Up: Paddy Furey


  1. The Newell Candlestick


  • Winner: Anne-Marie McGowan (Carrickmines)
  • Runner Up: Karen Davidson Perrins (Carrickmines)